A letter to J’s new teacher

Next week J starts “big kid school” and this is the letter I will be giving her new teacher:

Hi Miss C—

I am excited for J to be in your class this year; she’s excited for “school” to start.

I would like to explain a little bit about our family. We are a mom-and-kid family–I am a single mother by choice. There is no father involved in J’s life, nor has there ever been; there was no divorce, separation or death. Of course, J has an extended family, a Nana and many “aunties” and “uncles” (but no father and no brothers or sisters).

J’s understanding of our family structure is evolving. One of her favorite books is “The Family Book,” which explains that families come in all sizes and configurations.  We also read an age-appropriate story about her unconventional conception.  I bring this to your attention mainly because sometimes J likes to talk to her imaginary friends, which include a sister, a brother and (occasionally) a daddy, which can be confusing for people.  I want to assure you that J doesn’t need to be corrected; her imaginaries are important to her.  However, it is helpful for her teachers to understand when she is pretending.

Please share this letter with anyone you think is relevant.  If there’s ever anything I can do to help you or the class with this (or anything else), don’t hesitate to contact me.  You can reach me at …

***

And here is a gratuitous picture:

Explore posts in the same categories: Blogroll

4 Comments on “A letter to J’s new teacher”

  1. freshhell Says:

    Love the gratuitous photo and the letter. It’s perfect.

  2. freshhell Says:

    I took a picture of the airport this weekend. It’s on my laptop (at home). I’ll send it to you this week. It should come apart for shipping. I just need to remember how I put it together. I didn’t keep the instructions.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

